The penalties for a DUI conviction can be severe and lasting. Misdemeanor DUI is a criminal traffic offense that can be enhanced based on prior convictions, high breath test results, a child present in the driver’s vehicle, crashes with injury or property damage, and several other factors.
In general, a first offense misdemeanor DUI is punishable in Florida by the following:
Mandatory adjudication of guilt
Probation for 12 months
Jail up to 364 days
Fine $500 to $2,000
Driver License Suspension for 6 to 12 months
Ignition Interlock Device for 6 to 12 months
DUI Alcohol Safety Course (12 hour) and any recommended treatment
Victim Impact Panel (2 hour)
Community Service (50 hours)
Vehicle Impoundment (10 days)
No drugs or alcohol, random urinalysis
No driving without a valid drive license
Electronic Alcohol Monitoring
FR-44 insurance for 3 years
Travis Mydock is an expert and specialist when it comes to DUI defense in Saint Johns County, Florida. As a Board-Certified Criminal Trial Lawyer, he has the experience and reputation to help guide you successfully through this challenging time.
Attorney Mydock has the knowledge and skill to aggressively defend all aspects of your DUI case. He will consult with you on the best strategy for your case; from mitigation to litigation or a trial. He has defended 1000’s of cases including: First Offense, Second Offense within 5 years, Third Offense within 10 years, Fourth Offense, DUI serious bodily injury, and DUI manslaughter.
Call Mydock Law at (904) 864-3002 for a free and confidential case evaluation.
Legal Disclaimer: The information you obtain at this site is not, nor is it intended to be, legal advice. You should consult an attorney for advice regarding your individual situation. We invite you to contact us and welcome your calls, letters, and electronic mail. Contacting us does not create an attorney-client relationship. Please do not send any confidential information to us until such time as an attorney-client relationship has been established.