Statewide DUI & CRIMINAL DEFENSE ATTORNEY

PLLC

CALL (904) 494-8402 for A free consultation

MYDOCK LAW

IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES

Florida Law requires that interlock devices be installed on vehicles of persons convicted of certain DUI offenses. An ignition interlock device affects those convicted of DUI upon their eligibility for reinstatement of a permanent or restricted driver license. If a person is otherwise eligible, a driver license will be issued with a “P” restriction indicating a ignition interlock device is required. Drivers who are required to install an ignition interlock device must contact an approved provider, which can be found at the link below.


HOW LONG MUST AN IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICE BE INSTALLED? 

  • First DUI conviction: if court ordered
  • First conviction if 0.15 or minor in car: 6 continuous months
  • Second conviction: at least 1 year
  • Second conviction if 0.15 or minor in car: at least 2 continuous years
  • Third conviction: at least 2 continuous years
  • Four or more Convictions / At least 5 continuous years


A second DUI convictionrequires mandatory placement of an ignition interlock device for a period of at least 1 year, at the convicted person’s sole expense, upon all vehicles that are individually or jointly leased or owned and routinely operated by the convicted person, when the convicted person qualifies for a permanent or restricted license.  See generally
316.193(2)(a)3.

See Fla. Stat. 316.1937 (Ignition interlock devices, requiring; unlawful acts.)


See Fla. Stat. 316.1938 (Ignition interlock devices, certification; warning label.)


See Fla. Stat. 322.2715 (Ignition interlock device)


See Florida Administrative Code 15A-9 IGNITION INTERLOCK DEVICES