You must first enroll in the DUI alcohol safety education course (Level 1) in the county where you reside.
The Level 1 course cost is approximately $270.
You must bring the following to enroll:
Northeast Florida Safety Council
Sunshine Safety Council
North Central Florida Safety Council
DISCLAIMER: This website is for informational purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. Always consult with an experienced criminal defense attorney about your case. Review of this website does not create an attorney client relationship.
Go to the nearest Bureau of Administrative Reviews
Locations for the Bureau of Administrative Reviews in North Florida
MORE INFORMATION ABOUT ADMINISTRATIVE SUSPENSION REVIEW HEARINGS
STEP THREE - REINSTATE YOUR LICENSE AT THE DMV
If you are convicted of DUI in the criminal case, the judge by law must suspend your driver license for a minimum of 6 months to 1 year on any first offense. You may be able to apply for a hardship. We defend all types of DUI cases, both felony and misdemeanor. Please call for a free consultation about your DUI arrest. Call (904) 494-8402.
“A driving privilege restricted to business purposes only” means a driving privilege that is limited to any driving necessary to maintain livelihood, including driving to and from work, necessary on-the-job driving, driving for educational purposes, and driving for church and for medical purposes.
“A driving privilege restricted to employment purposes only” means a driving privilege that is limited to driving to and from work and any necessary on-the-job driving required by an employer or occupation.
Driving for any purpose other than as provided by this paragraph is not permitted by a person whose driving privilege has been restricted to employment or business purposes.
See Florida Statute 322.271 Authority to modify revocation, cancellation, or suspension order.
PROCESS TO OBTAIN A HARDSHIP LICENSE FOR A FIRST DUI ARREST
STEP TWO - SUBMIT A WAIVER OF FORMAL REVIEW AT "THE B.A.R."
STEP ONE - ENROLL IN ALCOHOL SAFETY EDUCATION COURSE (LEVEL 1)
WHAT IS THE DEFINITION OF A HARDSHIP LICENSE
NOTICE IF YOU ARE CONVICTED OF DRIVING UNDER THE INFLUENCE
See Florida Administrative Code 15A-6: Administrative Suspension Review Hearings
See Florida Statute 322.2615 Suspension of license; right to review.
Go to the local driver license office
If you were arrested for DUI you should immediately hire an attorney to defend your driver license. You only have 10 calendar days to waive or challenge the administrative suspension of your driver license. If you do not act during this period, you will be required to serve a "hard suspension with no driving" for 30 days if your breath alcohol level was 0.08 or more, or 90 days if you refused a breath test.
This administrative driver license suspension is a civil penalty separate from the criminal case. If the suspension is not challenged and overturned, it will be permanently on your driver record; even if you are not convicted of a DUI in the criminal case.
You can challenge this suspension at an informal or formal administrative review hearing. If you do not challenge the suspension within 10 days (or if the suspension is later upheld), the DMV will require that you serve the “hard suspension with no driving” before you can apply for a driver license restricted to business purposes only.
Effective 07/01/2013, a first time DUI offender can waive their right to challenge the administrative suspension and obtain a license restricted to business purposes without having to serve this hard suspension. The suspension, however, will automatically
be upheld and made part of your permanent driver record.
If you have a prior DUI arrest in any state, you will not be eligible for a hardship license. You should hire an attorney that can help you decide if you should challenge the administrative suspension at a formal or informal review hearing. Click here for the APPLICATION FOR FORMAL / INFORMAL REVIEW HEARING (Form 78065)
There are three steps that you must complete in order to obtain a hardship driver license for a first DUI arrest. All three steps must be completed within 10 calendar days of your first DUI arrest. Do not delay in the process. Call a Board Certified Specialist for a free consultation at (904) 494-8402.
Copyright 2017. Mydock Law PLLC. All Rights Reserved.